1.31.17

_DSC7871_1-31-17 copy
.
Today was a chill end to January, whose cloud-wrapped sky threatened to shut out the sun… once again. But then there was this… a serendipitous heart-shaped patch of blue that formed up above me while I was at lunch. There were several tiny patches of blue in all directions throughout the cluttered sky, some of which I had been photographing (prior to seeing this one) in an attempt to specifically capture proof of blue for my daily photo… just to show how grateful I was to see any blue at all (no matter how small), which we’ve seen so little of this month. Truly… it has been a record January in terms of the streak of gray days we’ve had… the longest in 25 years (so says The Weather Channel)!
.
So imagine how broad a smile this patch gave me. It didn’t last but a few seconds before the winds reshaped its šŸ’™-shaped border, only to close it up completely. But I looked up at just the right moment to notice it, and my camera was good and ready because I’d already been shooting all around it.
.
It made me think… Maybe when we look for what’s good among a sky-full of dark, our gratitude bounces right back our way with a wink, reminding us that streaks are just that… only streaks. Not permanent circumstances. And just as clouds do, streaks break up, too. And the sun WILL be out again.
.
Some people love cloudy weather. Me… I’m a sun person. So, ironically, I’m waving this January on in anticipation for February almost as eagerly as I did 2016 in anticipation for 2017. I took today’s heart as a sign for a sunnier month to come.

Leave a Reply

